Roundup Anime Reviews Compilation #2
Spread the love

Yo!

Here is another round up of anime reviews. This post have a lot of animes on it. I watched quite a lot recently. Not only animes, I also watched a bunch of tv series, idol-related videos and concerts these past few days. Hah! I have too much free time, what the hell. Yeah, I know. I don’t have a life outside my apartment. Lel. I’m living my life to the fullest…hehehehe.


Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2017 to Mar 26, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Studios: Telecom Animation Film, Graphinica
Source: Game
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Magic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: Set in the land of Yuguto, the people thought that the land they live is the size of the world, but it’s actually divided into several areas, each with a respective king. Even though there were small wars among areas, the kings had roundtable meetings to maintain peace and balance. It was until a dark group of dark monsters appeared… (MAL)

chainchronicle

First off, Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari. This anime is originally a game, and was later adapted into an anime. It aired last Winter 2017. I watched this after Yuri on Ice. I wasn’t able to watch this in sub and when it aired , cuz of time constraints (it was my last semester in University, so I minimized my watching in anime series). I was still determined to watch the whole series, so I was really delighted when I saw that it had a dub version. I immediately got a copy. I was able to finish this series fast, well, cuz it was in dub. It was so convenient.

I was really confused when I first watched the first half of the first episode. It started with a battle against the main enemy. I don’t know who were the characters. I didn’t even know if they were an ally or an enemy. The whole time, my mouth was slightly open and I keep on repeating “Huh?!?”. It was intense, yes, but, I can’t invest myself to the series cuz I have no idea WTF as going on. It wasn’t a good way to start a series. I think a person who is a fan of the game would have understand everything immediately, compared to me. So lame. I did understand though what is going on during the later half of the episode, but I was already disappointed. They wasted the first episode. There was no world-building, introduction the the freakin’ characters, and even the introduction to the plot. It didn’t stop me though. I still continued to watched it.

 

The series was pretty standard. It wasn’t bad, it wasn’t that good either. There were some scenes in the series that were irrelevant, I wish they replaced it with important scenes. Sigh. The art is very rpg-like. You can really see its resemblance to other animes that were also originally games. The background art was good, I have no problems with it. The animation was good too. I did notice some CG animation here and there. It blend well with the modern animation of the series so I have no complaints. I do find some action scenes lacking. Well, maybe because it was originally a game, I was expecting to have good action scenes. I think I expected too much.

Throughout the series, I find the pacing okay-ish. The writing was also okay-ish. The story was kinda boring and stagnant. It had good moments and bad moments. I did like the scenes where some characters turned to the dark side. Totally didn’t expect that the writer would make them evil. The ending did make me smile, at least.

About the characters, they were too many. Some of them where really bland and they were too 2D, I couldn’t give a damn about them. Only few characters were given character development. Most of them were the main characters. This problem lies to the writing of the story. Personally, I want to point out how annoying the main character, Aram is, especially when some of the characters treats him as a kid. The way he rejects their claims annoys me. His voice, uuuuggggghhhhh. I want to smack his face.

 

Overall, I did enjoy watching the series. I’m glad I watched this with very very low expectations. It is a good watch for past time. I couldn’t recommend this to anyone unless they are into this type of series.

Story: 5/10

Characters: 6/10

Art& Animation: 8/10

Enjoyment: 7/10

Overall: 6/10

 


Tears to Tiara

tearstotiara

Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2009 to Sep 28, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Magic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: As the Holy Empire rises to power, the neighboring lands begin to gradually fall under its control. The Empire’s conquest eventually reaches the small island of Erin, home to the Gael tribe. There, a priestess named Riannon is kidnapped to be offered as a living sacrifice to the demon king Arawn, a malevolent being rumored to have caused untold destruction in the past.

Riannon’s brother, First Warrior Arthur, rescues her, when Arawn suddenly materializes before them as a handsome grey-haired man. Hiding his true identity and remaining enigmatic, Arawn pledges his power and leadership to the tribe’s cause and joins Arthur, Riannon, and their merry band of friends—including a talented swordsman, an agile hunter, and a group of ecstatic pixies—as they fight back against the Empire, while uncovering the dark secrets of the land along the way. (MAL)

I first saw this anime when I was still in high school through Animax. I can still remember Animax promoting this anime cuz it was a new release in Japan. I was able to watch this in dub and sub.  Cuz of my busy schedule as a highschooler, I wasn’t able to watch this properly. Even though I got acquianted to this anime few years ago, I couldn’t say I understand the premise before. Everything I see in Animax was amazing in my eyes back then. Many years later, here I am now, able to finish this at last.

This show was indeed a ride. An enjoyable one.

The basic premise is about the siblings, Arthur & Riannon, leading their tribe free from the Holy Empire with the help with the infamous Demon Lord, Arawn, and some comrades that they meet along the way. It’s a RPG-like animes series done right (sorry Chain Chronicle). From what I gathered from my little research, this anime is based on a game. Even though I haven’t played the game, basing on the reviews of people, it seemed the anime adaptation was received well (Unlike Chain Chronicle….ha!). The world building was better. The story was solid until the very end, it even went full circle. I really appreciated that. It is quite clear that the creators did their intense research while writing for this series. This series was heavily influenced by the Arthurian legend, historical references and other known myths. As a fan of those kind of literature, I am greatly delighted by this. Everything flowed very well.

The characters were amazing as well. Their character development throughout the series is delightful to watch. I can totally see and understand characters.  They did the character backstory really well. Why they do what they do? Why they become like that? Those simple questions where answered and delivered well. It wasn’t shoved in our face. No character was an outcast, everyone had a reason to be in this series. All of them served a purpose.

 

I think the only negative thing I want to point out was Arthur’s voice. Oh my gahd!! Whether it is subs or dub, it was really annoying. When I first saw this in Animax, I couldn’t really remember how they sound back then, but I am very sure I wasn’t really this annoyed like now. Wow, his voice was really annoying. I really really want to punch his face or shove his face to the ground so that he would shut up. It was that bad. The other characters had wonderful and good voices. It was only Arthur’s voice that was really irritating.

Overall, I really really enjoyed this series. I’ll definitely want to rewatch this in the future. I would really recommend you to watch this series if you are into adventure, fantasy and RPG-like animes.

Story: 9/10

Characters: 7/10

Art& Animation: 7/10

Enjoyment: 9/10

Overall: 8/10


Qualidea Code

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2016 to Sep 25, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Supernatural, Magic
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: The story takes place in a world where people continue their war against the “unknown”—the enemy of humanity. Children who have been evacuated to a cold sleep facility during the invasion by the “unknown” several decades ago wake up from their slumber and learn that their bodies developed some supernatural forces. In order to protect the country from the “unknown” emerging from the Tokyo bay gate, the boys and girls wage battles in the defense the cities of Tokyo, Kanagawa, and Chiba. (MAL)

 

Wow. I definitely didn’t expect I would watch this again. I totally forgot that this series even exist. I’m so bad. But it can’t be helped. This show aired last year, where I was kinda busy with my thesis and my other stuff in my last year in the university. Not only that, this show also aired along side Re:Zero & Mob Psycho 100, which were both overhyped by the anime community. I was also more into the other animes (New Game, Days, Arslan Senki S2, Amanchu, Handa-kun, etc.), so technically, it’s not really my fault. Lel. Anyways, moving on to the review.

When I first heard the news that there will be an anime that will be produced by 3 famous light novel creators, I was really really excited. I am after all a big fan of light novels, in particular, I am a big fan of Wataru Watari ( I totally love his Oregairu series and the Girlish Number anime…damn). Because he was in this production, I had high expectations. I shouldn’t have done that. Sigh.

qualideacode

This anime is such a waste. A wasted potential. It didn’t have a proper world building. Even though it was because of the story and the scenarios that had happen later on, it wasn’t an acceptable excuse to make up for the lackluster world building. It made the viewers confused more as the story goes on. The pacing is also weird. Sometimes, it feels fast, the other times, it feels slow. It felt fast, especially during the twist and turns of the story, to a point I have to rewind a bit to understand WTF just happened.

Now that I mentioned the twists, I want to talk more about it. The twists left me speechless. I was very amazed by the plot twists, it made me very excited because I totally didn’t expect that to happen. It caught me off guard, and I really really like it. It was really intense. Even so, it also created many questions on my mind. They did answer most of the questions in the later episodes, but it feels meh cuz they didn’t really explain much about it.

The ending. Oh my, the ending. The ending sucks. It felt rushed and it lacks impact. It just….end. It really sucks, I can’t even find the right words to describe how bad the ending was.

The art and animation was really consistent all through out the series. As expected by A-1 pictures. The fight scenes were pretty solid and visually appealing. I really really love the animation of the powers of the main characters. The animation for the enemies were really good. I did see some small bits of 3D animation here and there. At least it blended well with the 2D animation.

 

Initially, we were introduced to the main characters, but they felt too 2D its hard to understand their actions and decisions (I’m looking at you two, Kasumi and Ichiya). Their initial character designs were really interesting. It would have been better if all of them got equal amount of character development, but it can’t be helped. It is hard to fit all of the important plot points in a 12-episode anime.

The music for this series, however, were phenomenal. They were able to recruit 3 famous anisong artists to sing their OP and ED songs. Not to mention, I am a big fan of the the 3 artists; LiSA, ClariS, & GARNiDELiA. LiSA’s voice fitted well with the OP songs, the intensity of the songs build up the momentum for the series. ClariS & GARNiDELiA also did a phenomenal job for the ED songs. With ClariS singing the first ED, it adds more flavor to the mystery aura of the series. It also had a touch of melancholic melody and feeling. This was continued to the 2nd ED song by GARNiDELiA. It was more intense and powerful than the 1st ED song but the melancholic feel remained. Everything then concludes in the last ED. It was less intense than the 2nd ED and the melancholic feel was gone. The song was more on hope than melancholy. It builds up really well. A good way to end the anime.

Overall, I wished this anime was long. At least 24 episodes long, that way maybe the worldbuilding might be done well. The story will have more depth and it will be more well-paced. This anime have big potential to be awesome, but the hype got cut-off due to the negative points of this anime. I will still recommend this to people, especially the anime fans who watch anime casually. Some of them might like this, at least.

Story: 3/10

Characters: 5/10

Art& Animation: 7/10

Music: 10/10

Enjoyment: 7/10

Overall: 6/10


Yugo The Negotiator

Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 24, 2004 to May 25, 2004
Premiered: Winter 2004
Studios: Artland
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Military, Mystery, Psychological, Drama, Seinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

Synopsis: “Negotiation means, you turn words into weapons”

This is the realization of the popular comic Yu-go that was published in Kondasha Afternoon Magazine over a period of 10 years.

Beppu Yuugo is the world’s most successfull negotiator. His only weapons are “words.” Yuugo doesn’t kill people. Neither does he threaten them with brute violence. With rich knowledge and a calm judgement, he believes in the humans inside them. Doing only that he has managed many dangerous negotiations successfully until now. Now two of the many episodes have been chosen very carefully, one taking place in Russia, the other one in Pakistan. In the burning desert and the freezing Siberia Yuugo begins his negotiations. (MAL)

yugothenegotiator

Here is an old anime. I present you, Yugo the Negotiator. I was really hesitant to watch this cuz (1) it is an old anime, (2) no ones talking about this show, (3) lastly, it looks too serious and boring for my mood. Still, I finished this in one sitting and it was really really good.

The premise is simple. Yugo is a professional negotiator. He is willing to help and get the job done as long as the price is right. The anime is consist of 2-arcs; Pakistan arc and the Russia arc. I am not really sure what is the real name of the arc, I just used the main places where the negotiations happened.

Hhhmmmm…how should I describe this anime?

This anime is definitely not like any other. It keeps you at the edge of your seat, and you won’t stop pressing the next button to watch the next episode. It was that intriguing. You can’t see any hints of moe or ecchi animation in here unlike the modern animes. It was very straightforward and memorable. Even though this story had 2 arcs, both arcs are totally different and similar at the same time. I heard from an anituber reviewing this anime, that there were 2 different directors, one for each arc. Now wonder. The difference between the 2 arcs were tremendous to a point that each arc could become a standalone mini-series. It is still similar cuz of the tone of the narrative. It is still Yugo. He is still the main character all through out the series.

 

Compared to the anituber who chose the 1st arc, I prefer the 2nd arc better. I find it more moving and interesting than the first arc. Indeed, the first arc was alot darker and edgier. Maybe it was because of how the story was presented, or because of the the mood of the scenes in the first arc. The director made sure to keep everything monotonous, even the color scheme of the first arc. The second arc, on the other hand, was more colorful. The seriousness still remained but it was more visually appealing. The story had more twists than the first arc, which made me wonder how this is going to end. The pacing of both arcs were well done, I have nothing to say about it. Everything was well explained.

The important characters were well introduced and develop all through out the series. You will also see how OP Yugo is. He is so damn OP to a point you question if he is a human being or not. You might also reached to a point were you are curious to Yugo’s past, and want to know him better. He is too OP, but a worthy one. The other side characters that stars on each arcs were given enough character development to make us sympathize to them.

 

Everything that happens in this series is too realistic. It could happen in real life. The story itself is really good, I don’t understand why this was not popular during its airing. I highly recommend you to watch this series. Don’t mind the old-looking art, it is just the surface. You need to dig deeper, watch it for the plot. You won’t regret it.

Story: 10/10

Characters: 8/10

Art& Animation: 5/10

Enjoyment: 8/10

Overall: 7.5/10

 

Oh my! I didn’t realized I already made a long post. Hhhhmmmm….maybe I should refrain from doing this round up review thingy. XD It’s taking too much of my time. Unless it is really necessary.

Anyways, upon finishing this post, I had already finished another 2 animes. So that means I might post more anime reviews in the future. I am also planning on adding more segments here on my blog, not only anime.

That’s it for now. Thank you for reading. If you have anything to say or discuss about the animes above, feel free to comment below. I’ll make sure to read them and reply. 🙂


Support me:

Become a Patron! 

 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: