Roundup Anime Reviews Compilations #3
Spread the love

Time to make a fast reviews, aka my After Thoughts, to these animes. This is a compilation of all of my short reviews on the animes I recently watched. Compared to my other anime reviews, I don’t have much to say about the animes down below. So, rather than posting them one by one, I’ll compile all of them here.

 


 

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2

Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2017 to Mar 16, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Light novel
Genres: Adventure, Comedy, Supernatural, Magic, Fantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 continues to follow Kazuma and the rest of his party through countless more adventures as they struggle to earn money and have to deal with one another’s problematic personalities. However, things rarely go as planned, and they are often sidetracked by their own idiotic tendencies. (MAL)


konosuba2

Konosuba season 2!!! Yay!! I was really happy when this was announced last year. I had high hopes that it would be funnier than the first season. Well…I was kinda disappointed.

I still enjoyed and laugh at all the jokes, believe me. I even rewatched some epic funny moments just to make me laugh. But the thing is, it gets old and boring. The more I watch this series, the more I find it stagnant and repetitive. It’s like the plot was not moving forward, at all. Everything was like compensated through the use of comedy which was only okay on the surface level.

At least, I did saw some character depth. I got to know more about Darkness and Megumin. I even learnt more stuff about Aqua’s goddess powers. But character development….nah. They are still the same since season 1. Well, I think they become worse.

The art style was indeed sloppier than on previous season. It’s like the studio didn’t give a damn about how they’ll look like as long as it will be funny. Indeed, it definitely added more flavor to the comedy that was already present in the series. I do hope that when the season 3 comes, thing would get moving while still maintaining the right amount of comedy & hilariousness that made Konosuba different from other Isekai animes.

Overall: (8/10)

 

Servamp

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2016 to Sep 20, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Studios: Brain’s Base, Platinum Vision
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Comedy, Supernatural, Drama, Vampire, Josei
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

Synopsis: Mahiru Shirota firmly believes that simple is best and troublesome things should be avoided at all costs. It is troublesome to do nothing and regret it later—and this ideology has led the 15-year-old to pick up a stray cat on his way home from school. As he affectionately names the feline Kuro, little does he know that this chance meeting will spark an extraordinary change in his everyday life.

One day, Mahiru returns home to find something quite strange: a mysterious young man he has never seen before. His subsequent panic results in the uninvited guest being exposed to sunlight and—much to Mahiru’s shock—transforming into Kuro! Upon revealing himself as a mere lazy shut-in vampire, Kuro promises to leave once night falls. However, one disaster after another leads to Mahiru accidentally forming a contract with his new freeloader, dragging him into a life-threatening battle of supernatural servants and bloodthirsty beings that is anything but simple. (MAL)


servamp
When I heard the news that this anime would get a new season, I was confused and why this anime got greenlit while the other good and above average animes couldn’t get one. So I eventually watched this and I was shocked. I was expecting that this anime would suck, but it didn’t. It was able to make me finish the whole season, at least. The story isn’t that solid, even the pacing was all over the place. I won’t say that this anime is the best or bad, it’s at least watchable.

The art and animation was on par with other animes released last year. The action scenes were done poorly. The characters other than the main ones were boring and too 2D. It’s they were just place there. The main characters, Kuro and Mahiru had great character development, especially the latter. I also liked the development of Hyde and Licht, to a point I find them more entertaining than the main duo. I do hope they’ll improve the story in the 2nd season.

If your a fan of bromance and handsome guys, then this anime is just for you.

Overall: (5/10)

 

Alice to Zouroku

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2017 to Jun 25, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Adventure, Mystery, Seinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: Sana is not an ordinary little girl; she possesses a special ability known as “Alice’s Dream.” Due to her power, which allows her to create anything from her imagination, all that she knows is the laboratory where she is a test subject. Wishing to experience the outside world, she escapes and meets a stubborn old florist named Zouroku Kashimura in a convenience store. All too soon, her pursuers catch up and Zouroku is roped into Sana’s troubles.

However, far from trying to distance himself, Zouroku extends a hand to help Sana. Following his values and sense of justice, he even gives the pursuers a piece of his mind! Zouroku then offers Sana a place to stay, beginning the daily life and struggles of the unlikely duo. (MAL)


alicetozuroku

I didn’t expect that I would enjoy this anime last winter. It had a unique premise, and the main characters were consists of 1 kid and 1 old man. Totally different from the norm. The storytelling was done really well, even the pacing flowed smoothly through out the series. It had a nice blend of action, comedy, drama and slice-of-life. The animation was rather unique compared to other anime released last winter, but it fits well with the story. The characters were well fleshed out. You’ll even like the suppose antagonists of the story. Indeed, a must watch if you want to relax and enjoy a good anime with a solid story.

Overall: (7/10)

 

 

Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2017 to Jun 21, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Studios: Silver Link., Connect
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, School, Shounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: The Private Aichi Symbiosis Academy was originally a high school for high-class girls. When it became co-ed, the girls, out of fear, asked to be permitted to bring weapons to school. When that was enforced, a five-member vigilante corps-like organization called the “Supreme Five Swords” was also formed.

After many generations, the five swords eventually became a group which corrected problematic students, and the academy started proactively accepting such students in order to correct them.

Nomura Fudou was sent to this school after being part of a huge brawl. What will he do when the only options he has after enrolling are being expelled from that school or being corrected the way the rest of the male students there were…by being forced to dress and act like a girl!


busounomachiavellism

An ecchi harem anime, where girls were wielding swords, and the guy had…invisible gun on his hands?!?! Sigh. It’s really absurd but it works.

The story went full circle at the very end, but it lacked impact. The suppose climax scenes didn’t give off enough thrill to make me appreciate it. At least I find the pacing good. The art and animation is on par with other animes, nothing new. The characters were meh. Even the main character was boring. There’s a bit of character development on some of the cast, but it didn’t save the anime.

I did enjoy watching the all to common anime tropes happening in the series. I also like the fact that they elaborate and explain every sword technique that was happening on screen. As viewers, we are after all not familiar with those information. I do want to know more about the Tamaba twins. Their situation wasn’t fleshed out much.

I think this anime will appeal to the fans of the said manga and to the fans who like ecchi and harem animes. If you don’t belong in both of the mentioned groups, well, its your choice if you want to watch this or not.

Overall: (5/10)

 

Drifters

Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2016 to Dec 23, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2016
Studios: Hoods Drifters Studio
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Historical, Samurai, Fantasy, Seinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R – 17+ (violence & profanity)

Synopsis: At the Battle of Sekigahara in 1600, Toyohisa Shimazu is the rearguard for his retreating troops, and is critically wounded when he suddenly finds himself in a modern, gleaming white hallway. Faced with only a stoic man named Murasaki and hundreds of doors on both sides, Toyohisa is pulled into the nearest door and into a world completely unlike his own.

The strange land is populated by all manner of fantastical creatures, as well as warriors from different eras of Toyohisa’s world who were thought to be dead. Quickly befriending the infamous warlord Nobunaga Oda and the ancient archer Yoichi Suketaka Nasu, Toyohisa learns of the political unrest tearing through the continent. Furthermore, they have been summoned as “Drifters” to fight against the “Ends,” people who are responsible for the creation of the Orte Empire and are trying to annihilate the Drifters. As the Ends grow more powerful, so does the Empire’s persecution of elves and other demihumans. It is up to Toyohisa and his group of unconventional heroes to battle in a brand-new world war to help the Empire’s subjects, while protecting the land to claim for themselves and challenging the Ends. (MAL)


drifters

I had low expectations for this anime. Even though many people were in awe by this anime when this first aired, it seems the hype died down later on.

The premise was quite interesting but also confusing at the same time. I did get the gist later on. I do have problems with its pacing, but it was bearable cuz of the visuals. The gritty, dark and edgy animation turned off me at first, but I was able to adjust and liked it later on. It fits well with the theme and story of the anime. The anime is full of action, adventure, gore and even comedy. Everything blend and complement each other really well.

The anime also shined because of its awesome characters. As you can see, the characters consists of known and important historical figures of that shaped our world today. Seeing them fighting and working with each other was amazing to look at. Because the characters were already established, theirs not much character development needed. All we need now is to wait for the story to continue on the next season.

Fans of Hellsing ultimate anime would definitely enjoy this. With the similar art and same level of gore, heck, even seinen fans would enjoy this.

Overall: (7/10)

 

Shokugeki no Soma ni no Sora

Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2016 to Sep 24, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis: The qualifiers of the Autumn Elections are now over, and only eight talented chefs remain. Now, they face off in one-on-one food wars, each with their own unique themes. Met with both new judges and new opponents all with their own specialties, Souma must stay on his toes if he hopes to make it to the top of both the Autumn Elections and Tootsuki Culinary Academy. (MAL)


shokugekinosoumas2

Food porn season 2!!! I recently finished this anime. I watched this cuz next season, the 3rd installment of this series will air, and this time, I’m planning on watching it weekly.

What I really like about this series was that the anime feels like its a shounen anime even though it doesn’t have any action sequences. It was that intense, every cooking competition was really intense and thrilling, I can’t even stop pressing the next button every time an episode ends.

The art and animation were consistent all throughout the series. I really really loved the fact they parodied some of shounen famous anime scenes (like Jojo, card game animes, etc.) to make the anime and the competition more entertaining.

I think the only negative point I could give to this series is the unfairness of character development. I do understand why this was happening. The series was intently following the manga, so it can’t be helped. At least, they did shed light to some characters, about their background and why they were doing what they were doing. I’m still waiting for more of Erina. Indeed, Erina can be seen all through out the series, but we still don’t see and understand much about her. My questions about her since season 1 were still not answered. I do hope I could get them this new season.

If you like food porn, watch this!!!

Lel. What I really want to say was this anime can be watched by anyone, even for shounen or mecha fans. It’s that enjoyable. But beware, you will get hungry after watching the characters cook such yummy foods.

Overall: (8/10)

 

 

 

Uuuuwwwwaaaaa. Now that was interesting. I might make more of this type of reviews again in the future. We will see.


Support me:

Become a Patron! 

 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: